December’s Thorn

cover large

by Phillip DePoy

phillip

http://www.phillipdepoy.com/index.html

Plot

Trying to recover from a near death experience (which included being in a coma), Fever Devilin receives a strange visitor to his Blue Mountain, Georgia home: A woman claiming to be his wife and that he has a son. However, Fever has a habit of seeing things which don’t really exist. Assisted by his girlfriend, the town sheriff, and an enigmatic but likeable psychiatrist, Fever starts putting together the picture. All too soon, however, Fever’s life is in danger once more. He has to dig back into forgotten memories, dredge up the past, face some horrifying truths. But can he trust anybody? Even himself? Is the entire mystery one big con game?

I really can’t comment on the plot because this is not a plot-based book. The plot is secondary, although a really close secondary element. I enjoy the ‘trying to remember something from my past’ type stories because you never know where it will lead.

Characters

Fever Devilin: trained as a folkorist, recovering from a near death experience and coma, hallucinates at times, parents (now dead) were carnival performers, has a high IQ, morbid interest in ancient worlds, was a professor at a university, insomniac

Issie Raynerd: claims to be Fever’s wife, pretty, black hair

Skid Needle: Blue Mountain town sheriff

Lucinda Foxe; Fever’s fiance, rarely uses profanity, head nurse

Ceridwen Nelson: head of psychological studies at an institution, white hair, dark eyes, olive skin, soft features

This is a character driven book. These people are enigmatic, strange, quirky, humorous, and at times I just didn’t know if anybody, including the protagonist was real. Real in the sense that the whole thing is one big hallucination or dream. More about character below.

Dialogue

Good voices from everybody. A little hint of southern accent although I did tire of “you’uns”. Really? Does anybody really say that anymore? If so, fine. I just found it a little distracting.

Writing

First person form Fever’s POV. The entire book, including how the characters were presented and developed was one big surreal experience. I felt detached from the normal type atmospheres of most stories. This is not to say I didn’t enjoy it, I just was always trying to find a way into the light of normalcy. I kept wondering if it was a Dallas ‘dream’ sequence, or a bad drug trip. I didn’t trust anything to be ‘real’. Because of this, I was a little disappointed at the mystery’s solution. The climax was pretty typical and the wind down to the end was too long. I wanted a bit more of a shocker. I liked the mythology aspect and the very slight hint of the supernatural (there is nothing paranormal about this story, but I wondered at times). I think it wold behoove readers to check out previous Fever novels before this one. Not that this one won’t satisfy, but I think by reading previous stories, you’ll get a more complete picture of the man.

My ranking:

Blue Belt

Blue

Posted on November 11, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

