Beth’s Book

cover

By Tim Woods

https://www.amazon.com/Beths-Book-Tim-Woods-ebook/dp/B005LVUYEA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1475798247&sr=8-1&keywords=beths+book%2C+tim+woods

Plot

An author struggles with writer’s block, an agent who reminds her she’s past deadline, a brother addicted to drugs and alcohol, a possible new romance, a son who says he’s bi-sexual and is trying to reconnect with his father.

Okay. That is how I saw the plot. That NOT the plot that was given to me. Direct from Amazon, here is the first line of the blurb about this book: What happens when fictional detective, Katie Shields, not only takes psychic possession of her author, but also starts to treat her creator as a suspect in a crime?

So, I’m thinking I’m going to read some supernatural tale and was very disappointed when it turned out not to be anything of the sort. If there was a ‘possession’ I missed it.

Characters

Beth Shepherd: 49, author, owns a cat, has a son, twice divorced, wears glasses, played volleyball at UCLA, has two brothers, parents dead, drives a Mazda Mia ta M-5 convertible

Stephen: Beth’s brother, 48, thrice divorced

Julie Sawyer: 38, black hair, former Olympic swimmer, fit, owns a bike shop

Here’s my take on the characters. I didn’t care. Beth’s only likeable quality is the car she drives. She’s depressing. She’s depressed about her ex husbands, her son even talking to her second ex husband, her friend’s constant fitness challenges. Her agent is on her. Then when she gets to New York, another friend is pissed at her and that wasn’t seen until Beth arrived. This woman has everything going against her I stopped rooting for her and caring about her long about page 50 (epub version).

Dialogue

Voices are distinctive. Not much else to say.

Writing

She spends most of the time brooding (shown in back story) about her two ex husbands, reading motivational quotes to help her get writing again (which don’t seem to help), arguing with her brothers, and finally, finally, at just past the half way mark does Katie Shield, the fictional detective start ‘talking’ to her. Not through possession as hyped, but through Beth’s internal dialogue that she’s writing. She writes scenes with her brother and the detective. She writes her ‘conversations’ with Katie, either on her computer or in her head. She takes her character in a drastic left turn to be able to finish the book.

There is some profanity.

Time passage was an issue. I found it difficult keeping track of time. Early on, she arrives home and in the next chapter she arrives home. Did a day pass?

Again, I just didn’t care. This went on and on with her writer’s block and brother problems and one more problem on top of another.

I hope this is an issue only with the epub version but all passages that were to be italicized were underlined.

Just when I thought things were to wrap up and Beth could start putting her world back together, there is a revelation that concerns her and her brother. The problem with this revelation is that is wasn’t hinted at during the entire book. If it was, again, I missed it.

So, how do I rank this? A fail, in my opinion, in regards to what I consider false advertising of the plot (again, maybe I’m not deep enough to catch the possession angle).

The like-ability aspect plays a part and one can see where I stand from the comments above.

It was clean, no errors (other than the underlined stuff).

The rank I choose is based on my enjoyment of the novel with regards to the clean writing.

My rank:

Camouflage Belt

Camo

Posted on November 21, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

